Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

November 3, 2020

The Honorable John Barsa Acting Administrator U.S. Agency for International Development 1300 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20523

Dear Acting Administrator Barsa,

We are writing out of great concern regarding the recent escalation of conflict in Nagorno Karabakh. There is an urgent need to address the humanitarian crisis brought on by the renewed outbreak in fighting and U.S. support for the removal of explosive hazards that threaten large numbers of civilians in Nagorno Karabakh is especially critical.

Bombings of cities with large populations including Stepanakert, Shushi, and Martakert have resulted in high levels of explosive contamination including rockets, missiles, artillery projectiles, and cluster munitions. Over 73,000 people either remain in or have been displaced from towns and villages which are now contaminated by explosive remnants of war. This is over half the population of the region prior to September.

Explosive ordnance pose a danger to people who remain, or are unable to leave, and will continue to present a risk when displaced families return. All unexploded munitions present a risk to civilians if moved or mishandled. Cluster munitions present a particular risk, as they are often present in large quantities due to high failure rates, can be especially sensitive to disturbance, and cluster munitions used in Karabakh with bright red ribbons attached are especially attractive to children.

Given the potential to protect civilian lives and contribute to efforts to stabilize Nagorno Karabakh, we strongly urge USAID to invest in humanitarian demining and unexploded ordnance removal activities and to provide additional humanitarian aid to help those in the conflict zone. Please give this request all fair and full consideration within all the applicable laws, rules, and regulations.

Sincerely,

Jim Costa Member of Congress Devin Nunes Member of Congress

TJ Cox Member of Congress Gus M. Bilirakis Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress Bill Johnson Member of Congress Judy Chu Member of Congress John Katko Member of Congress

Member of Congress

David N. Cicilline Katherine M. Clark Member of Congress Member of Congress James P. McGovern Jackie Speier Member of Congress Member of Congress Adam B. Schiff Jamie Raskin Member of Congress Member of Congress Frank Pallone, Jr. Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress Member of Congress Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr. Member of Congress Member of Congress Dina Titus **Brian Fitzpatrick** Member of Congress Member of Congress Carolyn B. Maloney Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress Member of Congress Harley Rouda Paul Tonko Member of Congress Member of Congress John Garamendi Juan Vargas Member of Congress Member of Congress Stephen F. Lynch Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress Member of Congress Gregory W. Meeks Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress Member of Congress Donald S. Beyer, Jr. Susie Lee

Member of Congress

Page 3

Jan SchakowskyBonnie Watson ColemanMember of CongressMember of Congress

Josh HarderRuben GallegoMember of CongressMember of Congress

Andy Levin Russ Fulcher
Member of Congress Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez

Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee

Member of Congress

Colin Allred Tony Cárdenas
Member of Congress Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Ilhan Omar Member of Congress Member of Congress

Tulsi Gabbard Tom Malinowski Member of Congress Member of Congress

Deb Haaland Diana DeGette
Member of Congress Member of Congress

Steve King Ted Deutch
Member of Congress Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Albio Sires
Member of Congress Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin David Trone
Member of Congress Member of Congress

Brenda L. Lawrence Eliot L. Engel
Member of Congress Member of Congress

Page 4

Jimmy Panetta

Member of Congress Member of Congress Seth Moulton Salud O. Carbajal Member of Congress Member of Congress Danny K. Davis Grace Meng Member of Congress Member of Congress Debbie Dingell Barbara Lee Member of Congress Member of Congress Jason Crow Abigail D. Spanberger Member of Congress Member of Congress Lori Trahan Bill Foster Member of Congress Member of Congress **Donald Norcross** Jim Cooper Member of Congress Member of Congress Anna Eshoo J. Luis Correa Member of Congress Member of Congress

Sean Patrick Maloney Member of Congress

Peter Welch Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress Peter A. DeFazio Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar

Member of Congress

Jim Langevin

John Moolenaar Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress Page 5

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

John Yarmuth Member of Congress

William R. Keating Member of Congress Christopher H. Smith Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress Jimmy Gomez Member of Congress

Jim Banks

Member of Congress

Ted Lieu

Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr.

Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa

Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Betty McCollum

Member of Congress

Karen Bass

Member of Congress

John P. Sarbanes

Member of Congress

Lois Frankel

Member of Congress

André Carson

Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Alan Lowenthal

Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

David E. Price

Member of Congress