## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

September 20, 2023

Honorable Antony Blinken Secretary U.S. Department of State 2201 C Street NW Washington, DC 20520

Honorable Linda Thomas-Greenfield U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations U.S. Department of State 2201 C Street NW Washington, DC 20520

CC: Honorable António Guterres Secretary-General United Nations New York

The Congressional Caucus on Armenian Issues urges the Biden Administration to lead efforts at the United Nations Security Council to establish a mandate and peacekeeping mission that secures and protects the vulnerable Armenian population in Nagorno-Karabakh.

The large-scale attack by Azerbaijani forces this week was the most egregious escalation of their genocidal campaign against Armenians to date. It was designed to subjugate a population that endured months of starvation at the hands of the Azerbaijani regime as President Aliyev repeatedly promised peace and de-escalation to the United States and other international actors. It has become tragically clear that Russian peacekeepers cannot or will not uphold their obligations to safeguard the Armenian people.

Despite failing to prevent this horrific tragedy from occurring, the international community still has time to prevent the massacre or exile of the 120,000 Armenians in Nagorno-Karabakh. The United Nations must act swiftly to implement independent monitoring on the ground in Nagorno-Karabakh and provide guaranteed protections to prevent the further bloodshed of innocent civilians and ensure the safety and security of Armenians in the region. The U.N. must also provide emergency humanitarian assistance, in coordination with USAID and other state actors, and work to keep the Lachin Corridor open for the transportation of humanitarian aid.

The United States must act to enforce Section 907 of the FREEDOM Support Act and prevent any security assistance from going to this murderous regime. The United States should also quickly move to impose sanctions against Azerbaijani officials to send a strong signal that our country will not tolerate political violence. The Aliyev regime has made clear through its dangerous rhetoric and use of deadly force that they will not accommodate Armenians living in Nagorno-Karabakh, which has been their historic homeland for thousands of years. Our understanding is there will be a special United Nations Security Council meeting in the afternoon on Thursday, September 21, to discuss Azerbaijan's aggressions. We urge a comprehensive condemnation of Azerbaijani violence and resolute action to protect this vulnerable population.

We firmly believe the United States and the international community have a responsibility to act and prevent a second Armenian Genocide, which we are currently seeing unfold before our eyes. This moment could be the final opportunity to save these people and prevent full-scale ethnic cleansing. Do not waste it.

We appreciate your consideration of these requests and look forward to your timely reply.

FRANK PALLONE, JR. Member of Congress

ADAM B. SCHIFF

Member of Congress

JIM COSTA Member of Congress

KEVIN MULLIN Member of Congress

LINDA T. SÁNCHEZ

Member of Congress

A KRISHNAMOORTI

RAJA KRISHNAMOORT

Sincerely,

GUS M. BILIRAKIS Member of Congress

DAVID G. VALADAO Member of Congress

MCCLINTOCK Member of Congress

JAMIE RASKIN Member of Congress

ELEANOR HOLMES NORTON Member of Congress

LORITRAHAN Member of Congress

. I Na polit

GRACE F. NAPOLITANO Member of Congress

ANNA ESHOO Member of Congress

**CHRIS PAPPAS** 

Member of Congress

KATIE PORTER Member of Congress

ha

BARBARA LEE Member of Congress

ardenas mu

TONY CÁRDENAS Member of Congress

JAMES P. MCGOVERN Member of Congress

ABIGAIL SPANBERGER Member of Congress

WIN CASTRO

JOAQUIN CASTRO Member of Congress

ZOE LOFGREN Member of Congress

/S/\_\_\_\_\_ JOHN P. SARBANES Member of Congress

BRAD SHERMAN Member of Congress

JAN SCHAKOWSKY Member of Congress

MIKE QUIGLEY Member of Congress

JAKE AUCHINCLOSS Member of Congress

SETH MAGAZINER Member of Congress

JUDY CHU Member of Congress

JOHN B. LARSON Member of Congress

SUSIE LEE Member of Congress

BÓNNIE WATSON COLEMAN Member of Congress

LL D DOGGET

Member of Congress

RO KHANNA Member of Congress

Harkha

CHRISSY **DOULAHAN** Member of Congress

NICOLE MALLIOTAKIS Member of Congress

SYDNE BAMLAGER-DOVE Member of Congress

W Tion

TED W. LIEU Member of Congress

DINA TITUS

Member of Congress

het Menuly

ROBERT J. MENENDEZ Member of Congress

GRACE MENG

Member of Congress

MIKIE SHERRILL Member of Congress

Lann

JOSH GOTTHEIMER Member of Congress

HALEY STEVENS Member of Congress

JIM H

Member of Congress