Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

October 2, 2023

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden Jr., President of the United States The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear President Biden,

On September 19th Azerbaijan launched an unprovoked military offensive on Nagorno-Karabakh (Artsakh) in an attempt to subjugate the region's ethnically Armenian population by force. Following a 24-hour assault that saw the displacement of several thousand civilians and more than 200 deaths, Artsakh's authorities agreed to disarm to avoid further bloodshed.

Azerbaijan's military offensive is the culmination of a cruel nine-month blockade of Artsakh that has deprived the region's 120,000 civilians, including 30,000 children, of food, medicine, and other necessities. In light of the unfolding mass displacement of Artsakh's population, it is clear that our country's response to this crisis has not been commensurate with the scale of the devastation. We believe the United States must make clear to Azerbaijan that its unprovoked aggression against Artsakh is unacceptable and will be met with an appropriate response.

Azerbaijan's assault and subjugation of Artsakh has left the region's Armenian population with no option but to flee, fearing for their future under Azerbaijan's brutal authoritarian rule. As we write to you, over 100,000 individuals, more than 80 percent of the region's population, have fled to Armenia as refugees. We are also disturbed by reports that Azerbaijani authorities are detaining members of Artsakh's political leadership, preventing them from evacuating to safety.

Prior to Azerbaijan's military assault, several leading scholars on atrocities prevention sounded the alarm of genocide, including former United Nations genocide expert, Juan Mendez, and former Chief Prosecutor of the International Criminal Court, Luis Moreno Ocampo. Despite these credible warnings of impending ethnic cleansing, this preventable humanitarian disaster is unfolding on our watch.

The U.S. has a moral obligation to do whatever is necessary to bring an end to this needless suffering and ensure Azerbaijan faces consequences for engaging in ethnic cleansing. To this end, we respectfully request that your administration take the following actions:

- 1. Enforce Section 907 of the FREEDOM Support Act, a provision of current law that prohibits U.S. military aid to Azerbaijan, and impose targeted sanctions on Azerbaijani officials under the Global Magnitsky Act to make clear to Azerbaijan that its aggression will not be tolerated.
- 2. Provide robust humanitarian assistance to support Artsakh's displaced population and rally the international community to do the same by leading the establishment of an international humanitarian relief operation.

3. Take all actions necessary to ensure the safe evacuation of Artsakh's population to Armenia, including through the immediate deployment of observers to the Lachin Corridor, as well as direct engagement with Azerbaijani authorities to secure amnesty for Artsakh's local leaders.

Thank you in advance for your consideration of our requests. We look forward to your administration taking decisive action to alleviate the suffering of the people of Artsakh.

Most gratefully,

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Trank Pallon.

Frank Pallone, Jr. Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress

Katherine M. Clark

Katherine M. Clark Member of Congress

Felo lanci

Nancy Pelosi Member of Congress

Bilit

Gus M. Bilirakis Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Grace & Magolitano Grace F. Napolitano

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

Eleano H. Noton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Boline Water Colema

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Mafine Waters

Maxine Waters Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

Grace Meng Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán Nanette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

in Swelwool

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

Aude J. Saing

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Bred Sherm

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

Brian Higgins Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

Se Magazine

Member of Congress

Hullin

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Judy Chu

Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

tonlo fail

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Chris Pappas Member of Congress

11

Donald Norcross Member of Congress

DAOUIN CASTRO

oaquin Castro Member of Congress

Tony Cardenes

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

ubar

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

ha

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Madelune Les

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

Summe

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Morgan McGarvey

Member of Congress

Deblie Wasserm

Debbie Wasserman Schult Member of Congress

May La Scanler

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez

Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Mussy Hackhan

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

h K m

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

le Ter

Mike Levin Member of Congress

ma litos

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

1x /

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

noi lee

Susie Lee Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

Roul M.I

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

OIN

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

James P. Une

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

T. A. Clax

Tom McClintock Member of Congress

David J. Trone Member of Congress

Susan Wild Member of Congress

Chell R

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

10.CLL

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

the knowle

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

In R. Meclice

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Jake Auchincloss Member of Congress

Mark Jaban

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

Ted W. Iren

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

he Shonpon

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

ellasti

Mamie Raskin Member of Congress

cc: The Honorable Antony Blinken, Secretary of State The Honorable Samantha Power, Administrator, U.S. Agency for International Development The Honorable Jake Sullivan, National Security Advisor