Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

December 1, 2023

The Honorable Mike Johnson, Speaker of the House H-232, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Charles E. Schumer, Senate Majority Leader 322 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Hakeem Jeffries, House Minority Leader H-204, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Mitch McConnell, Senate Minority Leader 317 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Speaker Johnson, Majority Leader Schumer, Minority Leader Jeffries, and Minority Leader McConnell,

As Congress considers supplemental funding to enhance the security of our allies, we would like to highlight a vulnerable democracy that warrants American support: the Republic of Armenia. We strongly support the inclusion of funds in any supplemental appropriations bill to strengthen the U.S.-Armenia security partnership and help address the severe humanitarian challenges caused by Azerbaijan's recent aggression.

On September 19th, Azerbaijan launched an unprovoked military offensive on Nagorno-Karabakh, displacing 120,000 ethnically Armenian civilians from their homeland and ending their more than three decades of self-rule. The assault was the culmination of a cruel blockade that deprived the region's population of food, medicine, and other necessities for nearly ten months. Azerbaijan's aggression has resulted in a devastating humanitarian crisis, with Armenia absorbing tens of thousands of refugees.

Now that Azerbaijani dictator Ilham Aliyev has reshaped the region using military force, we fear that he is emboldened to do so again. We are particularly concerned that Azerbaijan will continue its aggression by invading the sovereign territory of Armenia. Ominously, Aliyev recently referred to southern Armenia as "western Azerbaijan" and called for the "liberation" of eight Armenian villages along the Azerbaijani border.

As a small democracy in a region dominated by autocrats, Armenia is particularly vulnerable. This is especially true now that Armenia has distanced itself from Russia, Armenia's traditional security guarantor, in pursuit of closer ties with western democracies. We believe the U.S. has an important role to play in ensuring Armenia's security is not jeopardized because of its decision to break away from Putin's murderous regime.

At this inflection point for the Caucasus, U.S. leadership is needed to deter further Azerbaijani aggression and enable Armenians to defend their democracy. To this end, we respectfully request that at least \$10 million in Foreign Military Financing (FMF) for Armenia be included in the forthcoming supplemental appropriations package. We are also pleased that the President's supplemental request includes robust funding for humanitarian aid, and we're hopeful that a

portion of these funds will be made available to Armenia to meet the humanitarian needs of the 120,000 refugees who were recently forced from their homes in Nagorno-Karabakh.

Thank you in advance for your consideration of our requests and for your commitment to strengthening American support for vulnerable democracies throughout the world.

Sincerely,

Anna G. Eshoo

Member of Congress

Alex Padilla

United States Senator

Frank Pallone, Jr.

Member of Congress

Jack Reed

United States Senator

David G. Valadao

Member of Congress

Gary C Peters

United States Senator

Adam B. Schiff

Member of Congress

Debbie Stabenow

United States Senator

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Katie Porter

Member of Congress

Dan Goldman

Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress Shund Brown

Sherrod Brown United States Senator

John Fetterman United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen United States Senator

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator

Edward J. Markey United States Senator Eric Swalwell
Member of Congress

Sheldon Whitehouse United States Senator

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Member of Congress Ron Wyden

United States Senator

Paul D. Tonko

Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Jim Costa

Member of Congress

oaquin Castro Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

David J. Trone Member of Congress

Tony Cárdenas
Member of Congress

Andy Kim Member of Congress Joyce Beatty
Member of Congress

Sydney Kamlager Dove Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

John P. Sarbanes Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress Michael V. Lawler Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Susie Lee

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress Gabe Amo Member of Congress

Abigail Davis Spanberger Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress Danny d. Paris

Danny K. Davis
Member of Congress

Grace Meng
Member of Congress

Dina Titus

Member of Congress

Robert J. Menendez Member of Congress

holet Menuly

Rashida Tlaib

Member of Congress

Judy Chu

Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D.

Member of Congress

Deborah K. Ross

Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren

Member of Congress

Take Auchincloss

Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean

Member of Congress

Christopher H. Smith Member of Congress