## 116TH CONGRESS | 1ST SESSION H.RES.296

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES Introduced April 8, 2019

#### RESOLUTION

#### Affirming the United States Record on the Armenian Genocide.

Whereas the United States has a proud history of recognizing and condemning the Armenian Genocide, the killing of 1.5 million Armenians by the Ottoman Empire from 1915 to 1923, and providing relief to the survivors of the campaign of genocide against Armenians, Greeks, Assyrians, Chaldeans, Syriacs, Arameans, Maronites, and other Christians;

Whereas the Honorable Henry Morgenthau, United States Ambassador to the Ottoman Empire from 1913 to 1916, organized and led protests by officials of many countries against what he described as the empire's "campaign of race extermination", and was instructed on July 16, 1915, by United States Secretary of State Robert Lansing that the "Department approves your procedure ... to stop Armenian persecution";

Whereas President Woodrow Wilson encouraged the formation of the Near East Relief, chartered by an Act of Congress, which raised \$116,000,000 (over \$2,500,000,000 in 2019 dollars) between 1915 and 1930, and the Senate adopted resolutions condemning these massacres;

Whereas Raphael Lemkin, who coined the term "genocide" in 1944, and who was the earliest proponent of the United Nations Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of Genocide, invoked the Armenian case as a definitive example of genocide in the 20th century;

Whereas, as displayed in the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, Adolf Hitler, on ordering his military commanders to attack Poland without provocation in 1939, dismissed objections by saying "[w]ho, after all, speaks today of the annihilation of the Armenians?", setting the stage for the Holocaust;

Whereas the United States has officially recognized the Armenian Genocide, through the United States Government's May 28, 1951, written statement to the International Court of Justice regarding the Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide, through President Ronald Reagan's Proclamation No. 4838 on April 22, 1981, and by House Joint Resolution 148, adopted on April 8, 1975, and House Joint Resolution 247, adopted on September 10, 1984; and

Whereas the Elie Wiesel Genocide and Atrocities Prevention Act of 2018 (Public Law 115–441) establishes that atrocities prevention represents a United States national interest, and affirms that it is the policy of the United States to pursue a United States Government-wide strategy to identify, prevent, and respond to the risk of atrocities by "strengthening diplomatic response and the effective use of foreign assistance to support appropriate transitional justice measures, including criminal accountability, for past atrocities": Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That it is the sense of the House of Representatives that it is the policy of the United States to—

- (1) commemorate the Armenian Genocide through official recognition and remembrance;
- (2) reject efforts to enlist, engage, or otherwise associate the United States Government with denial of the Armenian Genocide or any other genocide; and
- (3) encourage education and public understanding of the facts of the Armenian Genocide, including the United States role in the humanitarian relief effort, and the relevance of the Armenian Genocide to modern-day crimes against humanity.

# 116TH CONGRESS | 1ST SESSION | H.RES.296 130 Co-Sponsors (as of 10/28/2019)

### Rep. Adam Schiff (D-CA) Rep. Gus Bilirakis (R-FL) Lead Sponsors

Pete Aguilar (D-CA) Nanette Barragan (D-CA) Karen Bass (D-CA) Don Beyer (D-VA) Gus Bilirakis (R-FL) Sanford Bishop (D-GA) Anthony Brindisi (D-NY) Ken Calvert (R-CA) Salud Carbajal (D-CA) Tony Cardenas (D-CA) Andre Carson (D-IN) Judy Chu (D-CA) David Cicilline (D-RI) Gil Cisneros (D-CA) Katherine Clark (D-MA) William Lacy Clay (D-MO) Jim Copper (D-TN) Lou Correa (D-CA) Jim Costa (D-CA) Ioe Courtney (D-CT) TJ Cox (D-CA) Dan Crenshaw (R-TX) Charlie Crist (D-FL) Jason Crow (D-CO) Warren Davidson (R-OH) Danny Davis (D-IL) Madeline Dean (D-PA) Peter DeFazio (D-OR)

Diana DeGette (D-CO)
Rosa DeLauro (D-CT)
Mark DeSaulnier (D-CA)
Ted Deutch (D-FL)
Anna Eshoo (D-CA)
Adriano Espaillat (D-NY)
Lois Frankel (D-FL)
Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE)
Tulsi Gabbard (D-HI)
Ruben Gallego (D-AZ)
John Garamendi (D-CA)
Chuy Garcia (D-IL)
Jimmy Gomez (D-CA)
Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ)
Raul Grijalva (D-AZ)

Debra Haaland (D-NM)
Josh Harder (D-CA)
Kevin Hern (R-OK)
Katie Hill (D-CA)
Marcy Kaptur (D-OH)
Joe Kennedy (D-MA)
Ro Khanna (D-CA)
Dan Kildee (D-MI)
Peter King (R-NY)
Steve King (R-IA)

Raja Krishnamoorthi (D-IL) Doug LaMalfa (R-CA) James Langevin (D-RI) Brenda Lawrence (D-MI) Barbara Lee (D-CA) Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX) Susie Lee (D-NV)

Debbie Lesko (R-AZ)
Andy Levin (D-MI)
Ted Lieu (D-CA)
Daniel Lipinski (D-IL)
Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
Alan Lowenthal (D-CA)
Nita Lowey (D-NY)

Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO) Elaine Luria (D-VA) Stephen Lynch (D-MA) Carolyn Maloney (D-NY) Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY)

Sean Patrick Maloney (D-N1)
Sean Patrick Maloney (D-N
Doris Matsui (D-CA)
Betty McCollum (D-MN)
James McGovern (D-MA)
Gregory Meeks (D-NY)
Grace Meng (D-NY)
John Moolenaar (R-MI)
Joseph Morelle (D-NY)
Seth Moulton (D-MA)
Jerrold Nadler (D-NY)
Grace Napolitano (D-CA)
Richard Neal (D-MA)
Joe Neguse (D-CO)
Donald Norcross (D-NJ)
Devin Nunes (R-CA)

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY)

Frank Pallone (D-NJ)
Chris Pappas (D-NH)
Edwin Perlmutter (D-CO)
Chellie Pingree (D-ME)
Katie Porter (D-CA)
Mike Quigley (D-IL)
Jamie Raskin (D-MD)
Cedric Richmond (D-LA)
Kathleen Rice (D-NY)
Harley Rouda (D-CA)
Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)

Tim Ryan (D-OH)
Linda Sanchez (D-CA)
John Sarbanes (D-MD)
Mary Gay Scanlon (D-PA)
Janice Schakowsky (D-IL)
Brad Schneider (D-IL)
David Schweikert (R-AZ)
F. James Sensenbrenner (R-WI)

Donna Shalala (D-FL) Brad Sherman (D-CA) Albio Sires (D-NJ)

Christopher Smith (R-NJ) Abigail Spanberger (D-VA) Ross Spano (R-FL)

Jackie Speier (D-CA)
Haley Stevens (D-MI)
Tom Suozzi (D-NY)
Eric Swalwell (D-CA)
Mark Takano (D-CA)
Bennie Thompson (D-MS)
Mike Thompson (D-CA)
Dina Titus (D-NV)
Rashida Tlaib (D-MI)
Paul Tonko (D-NY)
Norma Torres (D-CA)
Lori Trahan (D-MA)
David Trone (D-MD)
Juan Vargas (D-CA)
Peter Visclosky (D-IN)

Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL)

John Yarmuth (D-KY)