Rustamyan Confirms Names of Ministerial Candidates

Discusses ‘Agreement on Political Cooperation’

YEREVAN (A.W.)—Armenian Revolutionary Federation (ARF) Bureau member Armen Rustamyan confirmed the names of the ARF members who will likely be assigned to three ministerial posts, in an interview with RFE/RL’s Armenian service ( on Feb. 18. The three names are: Levon Mkrtchyan (Minister of Education), Davit Lokyan (Minister of Territorial Administration), and Artsvik Minasyan (Minister of Economy). Furthermore, he noted that the ARF would also likely receive the governor positions in the provinces of Shirag and Arakadzodn.

Armen Rustamyan (Photo: PanArmenian Photo)

Rustamyan noted that the agreement that is expected to be signed between the ARF and the Republican Party is referred to as the “Agreement on Political Cooperation,” adding that “there are no time limitations on the agreement, since it is not an ordinary agreement related to [forming] a coalition, but a long-term vision on cooperation.” He stressed that the main issue is the realization of the various aspects of the new Constitution.

“In this respect, the agreement has a long-term nature that looks to the future, and—I think—once it is made public, it will be clear to all, that we are talking about a cooperation that is being shaped based on a truly political and ideological foundation,” said Rustamyan.

When asked whether the vision outlined in the Agreement could simply remain on a piece of paper, without being implemented, Rustamyan responded: “No. Firstly, everything begins with words, desires. The rest is up to us, so that we turn them into reality. After making these public announcements, and after expressing our readiness and commitment, it would simply be sloppy for any political force not to do what it has set out to do—especially for the ARF, which is accountable to, not 20- or 25-, but 125-year history. We know the cost and significance of that responsibility, as well as the weight of words.”

Rustamyan noted that in a matter of days, the agreement would be made public. “Most likely, next week,” he said.

Former ARF Bureau member Levon Mkrtchyan served as Armenia’s Minister of Education and Science from 1998-1999. He has served as advisor to the Prime Minister of Armenia (1999-2000), and was appointed Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs in 2000. From 2001-2003, he served again as the Minister of Education and Science.  Former ARF Bureau member Davit Lokyan has previously served as both Minister of Urban Development (2001-2003) and Minister of Agriculture of Armenia (2003-2008). Artsvik Minsayan is a member of the ARF faction of the National Assembly of Armenia and has served on several budget and finance committees in Armenia’s Parliament.

Armenia’s National Assembly approved the proposed package of constitutional reforms, which called for a shift from a semi-presidential to a parliamentary form of government, on Oct. 5, 2015. The ARF has supported and promoted a parliamentary system of government in Armenia since its independence. Under the new system, Armenia would work with a 101-seat parliament with a 5-year term elected entirely by proportional representation.

Source: Armenian Weekly
Link: Rustamyan Confirms Names of Ministerial Candidates

Your generosity empowers our advocacy, inspires our work, and sustains our momentum.