The ANCA closely tracks the performance of every incumbent Senator and Representative across a broad array of pro-Armenian legislative metrics, carefully scores and objectively grades each legislator, and then – as a public service to voters interested in factoring our insights into the diverse set of criteria they consider when voting – widely circulates non-biased, fact-driven, merit-based Report Cards and Endorsements each election cycle.

Choose your state on the map below or in the “Select State” dropbox to view the report cards of all House Members and Senate Members.

Cosponsored the Armenian Genocide Resolution, S. Res. 410? YES
Voted for the Armenian Genocide Resolution, S. Res. 410, in the Senate Foreign Relations Committee? Yes
Cosponsored the Haiti Armenia Reforestation Act, S.1548? YES
Offered remarks in remembrance of the Armenian Genocide in the Senate? NO
Participated in Capitol Hill Commemorations of the Armenian Genocide? NO

08/14 - Sen. Durbin leading effort to make USCIRF more dependent on State Dept. Partly in response to Turkey criticism.

07/15/14 - Remarks offered on the Senate floor by Cyprus - Mr. President, I rise today to mark a troubling anniversary - that of the 40th year of the division of the island of Cyprus.

U.N. peacekeepers first came to Cyprus in 1964 due to intercommunal fighting.

Since 1974, Cyprus has been divided into the government-controlled two-thirds of the island and the remaining one-third of the island which is administered by Turkish Cypriots and occupied by Turkish military forces. The Republic of Cyprus, which joined the European Union in 2004, continues to be the only internationally recognized government on the island.

Tragically, Cyprus has been divided now for four decades, with a U.N. buffer zone separating the entire island--the so-called green line. Violence today is rare, but the long-term impacts of the separation are stark--displaced people, memories of family members killed in earlier violence, and lost property rights. Quite simply, a people who share a common island have been unnecessarily divided for far too long.

Over the last decade there have been signs of hope that the island would be reunified and the Turkish occupation brought to an end. In 2009, for example, I visited Cyprus and met with then Cypriot President Demetris Christofias and Turkish Cypriot leader Mehmet Ali Talat. Christofias and Talat, at considerable political risk, had undertaken negotiations that showed real promise--talks that I and the international community hoped would succeed. Unfortunately, they did not, and several years have passed without a resolution.

Meanwhile, the situation in Cyprus has left an island and a region divided. People have died. Families have been separated. An entire coastal area, Varosha, remains an occupied ghost town. There has been a great deal of pain inflicted on the people of this island.

While I am saddened by this 40th anniversary, I am also encouraged that a new group of leaders in Cyprus has undertaken talks that show some promise. After Vice President Joe Biden visited Cyprus in May, Cypriot President Nicos Anastasiades and Turkish Cypriot leader Dervis Eroglu agreed to meet at least twice a month and undertake confidence building measures aimed at easing the many years of mistrust between the two sides.

I hope the leaders of Turkey will also step forward and bring an end to the military occupation of a third of the island. Such military seizure of territory has no place in today's modern Europe.

While this is a Cypriot-led process and negotiation, I wish to express my strong hope and support for the current negotiations to bring peaceful and enduring settlement to the island.

04/10/14 - With a vote of 12 to 5, the Committee voted to condemn and commemorate the Armenian Genocide. Those who joined Senator Menendez in supporting the measure were Senators Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Chris Coons (D-DE), Richard Durbin (D-IL), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Ed Markey (D-MA), John McCain (R-AZ), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) and Tom Udall (D-NM). Those opposing the measure were Senators John Barrasso (R-WY), Bob Corker (R-TN), Jeff Flake (R-AZ), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Jim Risch (R-ID). Senator Rand Paul (R-KY) did not vote.

01/07/14 - Durbin chaired hearing on Syrian Refugees. In one of his questions, praised Turkey for housing refugees.
Your generosity empowers our advocacy, inspires our work, and sustains our momentum.