They join a growing list which includes Senators Reed and McConnell and Representatives McGovern, Knollenberg, Frank, Kelly, Pallone, Schiff, and Towns

February 8, 2002

WATERTOWN, MA — This week Representatives Jerry F. Costello (D-IL), Greg Ganske (R-IA), Joseph M. Hoeffel (D-PA), Rush Holt (D-NJ), Jim Langevin (D-RI), John Lewis (D-GA), Michael R. McNulty (D-NY), Constance A. Morella (R-MD), Lynn Rivers (D-MI), Steven R. Rothman (D-NJ), Jim Saxton (R-NJ), Mark Souder (R-IN), and John F. Tierney (D-MA) joined the Armenian National Committee of America and other Members of Congress, to cosponsor the 8th Annual ANCA Capitol Hill Observance of the Armenian Genocide. The event will consist of a program and reception on Wednesday, April 17, in the Gold Room (Rm. 2168) of the Rayburn House Office Building, from 6 to 8 pm.

The Observance offers Members of Congress the opportunity to commemorate the Armenian Genocide with their constituents and other members of the Armenian American community — including survivors of the Armenian Genocide — as well as with leaders of human rights organizations, the diplomatic community, and members of the clergy.

One of the highlights of last year’s Observance was when Senator Robert Dole was presented with the ANCA Freedom Award for Lifetime Achievement. Senator Dole, a steadfast supporter of issues of concern to the Armenian American community, consistently introduced legislation to ensure that the United States properly recognize and commemorate the Armenian Genocide.

In previous years the Observance has attracted dozens of members of Congress, including: Senators Edward Kennedy (D-MA), John Kerry (D-MA), Joe Lieberman (D-CT), Paul Sarbanes (D-MD), Arlen Specter (R-PA), George Allen (R-VA), and Carl Levin (D-MI), Robert Torricelli (D-NJ), and from the House, International Relations Middle East Subcommittee Chairman Ben Gilman (R-NY), Intelligence Committee Ranking Member Nancy Pelosi (D-CA), and Representatives Xavier Becerra (D-CA), Lois Capps (D-CA), Eric Cantor (R-VA), Joseph Crowley (D-NY), David Bonior (D-MI), Nick Smith (R-MI), Mike Honda (D-CA), Steny Hoyer (D-MD), Patrick Kennedy (D-RI), John E. Sweeney (R-NY), Sander Levin (D-MI), and Brad Sherman (D-CA). Armenia’s Ambassador to the United States, The Honorable Armen Kirakossian and Nagorno Karabagh Representative Vardan Barseghian have also been present, as well as a number of dignitaries from several foreign embassies.

The Armenian American community is cordially invited to join Members of Congress in marking the 87th anniversary of the Armenian Genocide.

For further information or to RSVP, individuals may contact the Armenian National Committee of America Eastern Region (80 Bigelow Ave., Watertown, MA 02472; 617-923-1918/Fax 617-926-5525; email

The Armenian National Committee of America is the largest and most influential Armenian American grassroots political organization. The ANCA actively advances a broad range of issues of concern to the Armenian American community.


For Immediate Release
Media Contact:
Email / Tel: (917) 428-1918
Armenian National Committee of America
Eastern Region
PO Box 1066, New York, NY 10040
Tel. (917) 428-1918 * Fax. (718) 478-4073 * Email.
Your generosity empowers our advocacy, inspires our work, and sustains our momentum.