Reps. Cramer, Platts, and Faleomavaega Join as Cosponsors, Bringing Total to Twenty

February 7, 2002

WASHINGTON, DC – Congressmen Robert Cramer (D-AL), Todd Russell
Platts (R-PA) and Eni Faleomavaega (D-American Samoa) joined this
week with Rep. Albert Wynn (D-MD) in cosponsoring legislation he
introduced last November praising Turkey for its role in the U.S.-
led war on terrorism, reported the Armenian National Committee of
America (ANCA). The total number of cosponsors now stands at

In a “Dear Colleague” letter circulated yesterday, Rep. Wynn
highlighted that, “As a member nation of the North Atlantic Treaty
Organization located closest to Afghanistan, Turkey is the first
Muslim country to offer direct military participation in Operation
Enduring Freedom.” The legislation itself specifically praises
Turkey for ” offering to provide special forces in support of
Operation Enduring Freedom.” Turkey had indicated last November
that it would deploy 90 troops to Afghanistan.

“Clearly Turkey and its Washington lobbyist, former Congressman Bob
Livingston, are busy trying to distract members of Congress from
the fact that their constituents – U.S. taxpayers – this week were
called upon to help subsidize the International Monetary Fund’s $12
billion bail out of Turkey, the most recent in a long line of U.S.-
sponsored rescues of that nation’s failing economy,” said ANCA
Executive Director Aram Hamparian. “Congressman Wynn and his
colleagues who support this legislation could do more to advance
U.S. interests by focusing instead upon bringing an end to the
Turkish military’s control over the civilian government, their
denial of the Armenian Genocide, military occupation of Cyprus,
mistreatment of the Kurds, and worsening human rights record.”

Congressman Wynn is a member of the Armenian Caucus and a past
supporter of the Armenian Genocide Resolution, Section 907 of the
Freedom Support Act, and other issues of special concern to
Armenian Americans. Congressman Eni Faleomavaega, who represents
American Samoa, can sponsor legislation and vote at the committee
level, but is not entitled to cast a vote on the House floor.

A list of current cosponsors as of February 6th is provided below.


H.Con.Res.265 Cosponsors (as of 2/6/02)

Members of Congress who have joined Rep. Wynn as cosponsors of this
legislation as of February 6th are:

Rep Howard Berman (D-CA)
Dan Burton (R-IN)
Bob Clement (D-TN)
Robert Cramer (D-AL)
Eliot Engel (D-NY)
Eni Faleomavaega (D-American Samoa)
Paul Gillmor (R-OH)
Bob Rep Goodlatte (R-VA)
Alcee Hastings (D-FL)
William Rep Jefferson (D-LA)
Tom Lantos (D-CA)
James Moran (D-VA)
Joseph Pitts (R-PA)
Todd Russell Platts (R-PA)
Jim Ramstad (R-MN)
Dana Rohrabacher (R-CA)
Ike Skelton (D-MO)
Henry Waxman (D-CA)
Robert Wexler (D-FL)
Ed Rep Whitfield (R-KY)


For Immediate Release
Media Contact: Elizabeth S. Chouldjian
Email / Tel: (202) 775-1918
Armenian National Committee of America
888 17th Street, NW, Suite 904, Washington, DC 20006
Tel. (202) 775-1918 * Fax. (202) 775-5648 *
Your generosity empowers our advocacy, inspires our work, and sustains our momentum.