Legislation Opposes U.S. Taxpayer Subsidies for South Caucasus Energy Pipelines Routes that Exclude Armenia

February 1, 2002

WASHINGTON, DC – Representatives Patrick Kennedy (D-RI), Chris Smith (R-NJ), and Hilda Solis (D-CA) added their names this week as cosponsors of legislation (H.Con.Res.162) expressing Congressional opposition to U.S. taxpayer subsidies for pipeline routes through the South Caucasus that do not include Armenia, reported the Armenian National Committee of America (ANCA). The addition of these three Representatives brings the total number of cosponsors to forty-eight.

H.Con.Res.162 was introduced in June of last year by Armenian Caucus Co-Chairmen Joe Knollenberg (R-MI) and Frank Pallone (D-NJ), along with Reps. John Sweeney (R-NY) and Joe Crowley (D-NY). The bill expresses the sense of Congress that:

1) The United States should not subsidize any oil or gas pipeline in the South Caucasus the commercial viability of which is in doubt or which hinders the U.S. goal of integrating Armenia into a secure and prosperous regional economic framework;

2) All proposals for South Caucasus oil and gas pipeline routes should be carefully evaluated to ensure that all Caucasus nations are included in consideration of energy and trade routes;

3) Any engineering and feasibility study, and any project implementation, that utilizes U.S. Government funds, regarding the Baku-Ceyhan pipeline or similar energy transportation projects, must include trans-Armenian routes; and

4) The Trade Development Agency should fund and support a feasibility study to determine the cost savings of a trans-Armenia Baku-Ceyhan pipeline.

In October of last year, the House Financial Services Committee, under heavy pressure from the Caspian oil lobby, only narrowly defeated an amendment along the lines of H.Con.Res.162. The amendment, offered by Rep. Crowley, would have specifically prohibited the Export Import Bank from guaranteeing, insuring, or extending credit for the planning, development, construction, or maintenance of a Baku-Ceyhan pipeline that is routed around Armenia. Twenty panel members voted for the amendment, twenty-four against. Click here for a roll call vote on the amendment.

“We welcome the new support of Reps. Smith, Kennedy, and Solis, and appreciate the leadership of Congressman Knollenberg and his Armenian Caucus co-chairman Frank Pallone in advancing this legislation to save taxpayer dollars and promote stability in an important region for U.S. interests,” said Aram Hamparian, Executive Director of the ANCA. “We look forward to working with the Caucus leadership and with Reps. Crowley and Sweeney in helping to educate additional members about the benefits of moving H.Con.Res.162 forward.”

The complete list of current H.Con.Res.162 cosponsors is provided below:

Robert Andrews (D-NJ 1)
Joe Baca (D-CA 42)
Michael Bilirakis (R-FL 9)
Rod Blagojevich (D-IL 5)
David Bonior (D-MI 10)
Jerry Costello (D-IL 12)
Joseph Crowley (D-NY 7)
Anna Eshoo (D-CA 14)
Bob Filner (D-CA 50)
Barney Frank (D-MA 4)
Maurice Hinchey (D-NY 26)
Joe Hoeffel (D-PA 13)
Michael Honda (D-CA 15)
Steny Hoyer (D-MD 5)
Steve Israel (D-NY 2)
Patrick Kennedy (D-RI 1)
Joe Knollenberg (R-MI 11)
James Langevin (D-RI 2)
Sander Levin (D-MI 12)
William Lipinski (D-IL 3)
Nita Lowey (D-NY 18)
Carolyn Maloney (D-NY 14)
Carolyn McCarthy (D-NY 4)
James McGovern (D-MA 3)
Buck McKeon (R-CA 25)
Cynthia McKinney (D-GA 4)
Michael McNulty (D-NY 21)
Martin Meehan (D-MA 5)
Robert Menendez (D-NJ 13)
Constance Morella (R-MD 8)
Grace Napolitano (D-CA 34)
Frank Pallone (D-NJ 6)
Nancy Pelosi (D-CA 8)
George Radanovich (R-CA 19)
Lynn Rivers (D-MI 13)
Marge Roukema (R-NJ 5)
Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA 33)
Bobby Rush (D-IL 1)
H. James Saxton (R-NJ 3)
Adam Schiff (D-CA 27)
Chris Smith (R-NJ 4)
Hilda Solis (D-CA 31)
Mark Souder (R-IN 4)
Pete Stark (D-CA 13)
John Sweeney (R-NY 22)
William Thomas (R-CA 21)
Peter Visclosky (D-IN 1)
Anthony Weiner (D-NY 9)


For Immediate Release
Media Contact: Elizabeth S. Chouldjian
Email / Tel: (202) 775-1918
Armenian National Committee of America
888 17th Street, NW, Suite 904, Washington, DC 20006
Tel. (202) 775-1918 * Fax. (202) 775-5648 *
Your generosity empowers our advocacy, inspires our work, and sustains our momentum.